Children's / Reviews

The Muppets (2011) Blu-Ray review

When the Muppet Studio’s are threatened by oil tycoon Tex Richman (Chris Cooper), it’s up to Walter, the Muppets biggest fan,  his brother Gary (Jason Segel), and Gary’s girlfriend Mary (Amy Adams) to reunite the Muppets and save the studio.

The Muppets is an absolute joy from start to finish.  I will go out on a limb and say that it is perhaps one of, if not the, best films of 2011.  Funny, touching, and toe-tapping, you will have a hard time finding a film this much fun.

Written in part by Jason Segel (How I Met Your Mother), the love for the characters comes through in every frame.  When Gary, Walter (a muppet himself, I never quite figured out how they are brothers), and Mary go to LA for Gary and Mary’s 10 year dating anniversary, they find themselves reuniting the Muppets to save their old studios from an evil oil tycoon who wants to tear the studios down to drill for the oil underneath.

When I put this film in last night, I found that my son would not leave my lap.  He was laughing, pointing, having a grand old time watching this.  What better praise for a film is there, when a 19 month old loves it?  The fact that Daddy loved it as well.

Sure, this is a much smaller review than other that I write.  But what else is there to say?  This is a stunning achievement and a huge welcome back for The Muppets.

The video quality on this disc was simply stunning.  Unlike some of the older Muppet movies that haven’t been cleaned up or aged well, this is a pristine looking film.

The audio was also very well done.  Disney is nothing if not perfect in their handling of their blu-ray releases.  The dialogue is crisp and clear throughout, and the songs are an absolute joy to hear in 5.1 surround.  This is a wonderful soundtrack.

This was a rental, so I cannot comment on special features.

I cannot stress enough how much I love this movie.  While I was never a Muppets fan as a child, I didn’t expect to love this film.  I expected a lighthearted romp that my son might enjoy.  Instead, I found a film that we both loved equally, and wondrous experience of a film.  Do yourself a favor and see this ASAP!

Movie **** out of ****

6 thoughts on “The Muppets (2011) Blu-Ray review

  1. Pingback: For your amusement I present The Muppets! | BIZZAM!!

  2. Pingback: New Sesame Street movie coming? | BIZZAM!!

  3. Pingback: “SEQUEL! SEQUEL!” The Muppets: Most Wanted teaser trailer | BIZZAM!!

  4. Pingback: Muppets Most Wanted Super Bowl spot | BIZZAM!!

  5. Pingback: “Kermit, you were like James Bond back there.” Muppets Most Wanted trailer | BIZZAM!!

Leave a Reply

