Horror / Reviews

The Cabin in the Woods (2012) review

When five friends go to a secluded cabin to get away for the weekend, they soon find themselves fighting for their lives.

Yes, I know that story synopsis could be for any one of a hundred different horror films; from The Evil Dead to Pumpkinhead.  Trust me when I say, you have no idea what happens in this movie.  This is the craziest, balls to the wall film you will probably see this year.

Every now and then a film comes along and tuns genre conventions on their ear.  The Cabin in the Woods is that film.  This is also a hard film to review, especially because I absolutely refuse to enter into spoiler territory.  If I talk about the story at all, other than that blurb above, I will give something away.  Just trust me when I say you need to see this movie.  Don’t walk, run to the nearest theater and see this.  You will not be disappointed if you are a horror film fan in any way.

Written by Joss Whedon (Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Firefly, the upcoming The Avengers) and Drew Goddard (Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Lost) who also directs, this is a horror film unlike any other.  Dammit all when I say I want to go into crazy detail talking about this film, but I can’t without spoiling it.

Much like Behind the Mask: The Rise of Leslie Vernon flipped what a horror film could be, The Cabin in the Woods does this as well.  I spent most of the time watching the film with a big grin on my face.  It is just a pure joy watching master film makers ply their craft into something new and exciting.  Yes, I call Joss Whedon a master.  And if this film is any indication, Drew Goddard is a film maker to watch.

I realize this is a short review.  But I have told you all I can without spoiling anything.  Go to this film.  Be surprised.  Have fun.  AVOID any spoilers!  When the lights come up, you will be glad you did.  This is simply an amazing film.  I love it, and can’t wait to see it again.  It was totally worth me staying up for the midnight showing, even though I have to be up in 4 hours with my son.  Quit reading this and get your ass to the theater!

Movie**** out of **** (Yes, really.  It deserves every bit of those 4 stars.)

NOTE:  I am not posting the trailer for this in this review.  While it really gives nothing away, it does contain some spoiler-ish stuff.  I would recommend avoiding all trailers and tv spots, if at all possible.

5 thoughts on “The Cabin in the Woods (2012) review

  1. Pingback: PUMPKINHEAD « Written in Blood

  2. Pingback: Cabin in the Woods Blu-Ray release date | BIZZAM!!

  3. Pingback: The Cabin in the Woods (2012) Blu-Ray review *SPOILERS* | Bizzam!!

Leave a Reply

