Movie Ruminations

UPDATE-Betelgeuse to battle a RoboCop?

UPDATE!

It seems that the info I originally had was mildly incorrect.  Michael Keaton WILL NOT be playing the Clarence Boddicker role, but instead the CEO of Omnicorp role.  Had to clarify that.  The Hollywood Reporter has this to say from the director:

“Michael is the final addition to the amazing cast we have assembled for this film, and it is so great to have the last puzzle piece in place,” (Jose) Padilha said in a statement. “It is thrilling that everything has come together to bring this innovative new vision of RoboCop to life. We’ve got a great script, a great cast, some killer ED-209s, and I can’t wait to get Alex Murphy back on the streets.”

ORIGINAL STORY!

Michael Keaton (Batman, Beetlejuice) is replacing Dr. House in the RoboCop remake, say sources today. Obviously, this is contrary to the rumors that Clive Owen (King Arthur, Children of Men) was being looked at to replace Hugh Laurie (Dr. House).

I don’t know about you, but I actually like this casting better than Clive Owen, and I really like Clive Owen.  I cannot wait to see Michael Keaton go all hard core bad ass.  Word is this part is for the Clarence Boddicker role, played originally by Kurtwood Smith (That 70’s Show).

While there has been some bad buzz around this remake, I am still holding out hope that they are going to do it right.  From interviews I’ve seen from the director, he is taking this responsibility seriously.  Let’s all keep our fingers crossed. . .

4 thoughts on “UPDATE-Betelgeuse to battle a RoboCop?

  1. I saw “Betelgeuse” and all I could think of was “Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy”, lol. Are they still doing the Beetlejuice remake/sequel (can’t remember which it was)?

    • lol Funny. I had to look up the spelling. I remembered that in the movie his name was spelled different than the title of the film. I didn’t even make the connection to a star. Doh!

      I haven’t heard anything about the sequel lately, but as far as I know, it is still in the works.

Leave a Reply

