Movie Ruminations / Music

Metallica’s set list for the 3D film

Back in March it was reported that Metallica was going to do a 3D film that mixed narrative and concert footage.  Well, they have filmed the concert footage in Vancouver.  Rolling Stone has a great write up on the night.  Click here to go read what they thought.

The most interesting thing about the set list?  There are no St. Anger songs.  At all.  Not one.  And this makes me happy.  I would love to forget that that album ever happened.  As a ‘Tallica fan, I have to admit it was horrible.  The only good thing to come out of that album was their movie Some Kind of Monster, a documentary detailing the creation of the album.  It was a very well done film that covered the departure of Jason Newstead, longtime bassist for the band, through the return of James Hetfield from rehab.

This film is intended to be a different kind of monster (pun intended).  Rolling Stone says this:

The set was ever-changing, a visual Goth-a-thon perhaps best described as “Rock Out With Your Coffin Out.” For the opening number (“Creeping Death“) the stage revealed LED screens that created growing pools of blood, spreading underneath the band’s feet. As Hetfield growled his way through “Fuel,” a massive burst of pyro – a dozen plumes, each about 20 feet tall and 10 feet wide – repeatedly singed the eyebrows of all those in the pit and the first 10 rows in the stands.

Read more:

This is going to be a great film . . .It is being directed by Nimrod Antal (Predators, Vacancy).  Without further ado, here is the set list they played that night:

  • Creeping Death
  • For Whom the Bell Tolls
  • Fuel
  • Ride the Lightning
  • One
  • Cyanide
  • The Memory Remains
  • Wherever I May Roam
  • Sad But True
  • Welcome Home (Sanitarium)
  • . . .And Justice for All
  • Fade to Black
  • Master of Puppets
  • Battery
  • Nothing Else Matters
  • Enter Sandman
  • Hit the Lights
  • Seek and Destroy

While I have absolutely no gripes with that set list, I would have liked to see a little more Death Magnetic stuff.  I think their newest album is a bit under-rated.  Hopefully, this will be a wide release at some point in 2013.  More info on the film as I get it.

Related articles


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s