Movie Ruminations

IGN calls Skyfall the best Bond film ever

Is this actually news?  I’m not sure.  But it sure is a big announcement that IGN has called Skyfall “…the best in the series.”  Do I believe this statement?  I don’t know.  I do know that I agree with the general consensus that Daniel Craig is the best James Bond.  Have the films been better than Sean Connery‘s?  That is up for debate.

The James Bond series of films have been hit and miss for the last 50 years.  Yes, this year is the 50th anniversary of James Bond in film.  So, after 50 years and 22 films, has Sam Mendes made the best of the lot?  IGN thinks so.  Will I think so?  I can’t say at this point.  Will you think so?  I can’t say.

From Dr. No to Quantum of Solace, James Bond has been a film icon.  For 50 years he has stopped the bad guys and saved the world.  Will this change?  I doubt it.  He is the perfect spy, a man who feels no remorse and woo’s the women.  He drinks too much and has a death wish, though he will fight tooth and nail to survive.  He does his duty to crown and country.

I can’t claim to have seen all the James Bond films.  I haven’t.  I have a hard time watching the early films in the series.  Mostly, the Sean Connery films.  To me, they are cheesy ’60’s spy films.  For me, this makes them hard to watch.  I came into the series with the Roger Moore films.  A View to a Kill is the one that I recall the most.  Christopher Walken and Grace Jones.  Do I remember Jaws from Moonraker?  Who doesn’t.  But I remember Jaws because that was the nickname of my brother.  Not because he had a crazy jaw and gold teeth, but because he talked a lot.

I just felt the need to point out the fact that IGN has called Skyfall the best of the Bond films.  This is a ballsy statement.  Read their review (click on any IGN link to hop to their review) and let me know what you think.  My review will be posted when the film releases.  Then you will know my opinion. I look forward to hearing yours.

One thought on “IGN calls Skyfall the best Bond film ever

  1. Pingback: Skyfall PR stunt | Bizzam!!

Leave a Reply

