Movie Ruminations

“They’re finishing the hologram now.” DISNEY BUYS LUCASFILM!

Today it was announced that in 2015 we will see another Star Wars film, the first in another trilogy.  What is different, though, is that it will be under the Disney banner, as Disney purchased Lucasfilm for $4.05 billion and stocks.

The new trilogy, as reported by MSN, will continue the story of Luke Skywalker, Han Solo, and Princess Leia after the events of Return of the Jedi.  After that trilogy, Disney plans to release a new Star Wars film every two to three years.  George Lucas, creator of Star Wars and Lucasfilm, will serve as a creative consultant to the new films.  Lucas had this to say:

“For the past 35 years, one of my greatest pleasures has been to see Star Wars passed from one generation to the next. It’s now time for me to pass Star Wars on to a new generation of filmmakers. I’ve always believed that Star Wars could live beyond me, and I thought it was important to set up the transition during my lifetime.”

Kathleen Kennedy, co-chairman of Lucasfilm, will become the ringleader of the new Lucasfilm division at Disney.  She will also be executive producer on the new films.  This video was released with George Lucas and Kathleen Kennedy talking about the transition and the future of Star Wars.  Have a look:

I need to digest this information a little bit before I can officially comment on it.  I am somewhat torn at the moment and not sure what to think.  I can’t decide if this is good or bad for Star Wars and any other Lucasfilm properties (especially Indiana Jones).  After I have had some time to think on it, I will return and post my thoughts.  Watch for that piece tomorrow.

3 thoughts on ““They’re finishing the hologram now.” DISNEY BUYS LUCASFILM!

  1. Torn but I do believe that Disney might be the perfect partner for this. when the new movies come out, I’ll probably will scream at them for destroying star wars but hey look at episode one and how Lucas killed if that one by himself…

    • I’ve had a day to dwell on it, and I’m still not sure what I think about it. I was so shocked by the news that it still hasn’t really hit me yet.

      I do have faith that it will be a good fit, though. Disney probably has the highest ratio of good films of any other studio, and they haven’t watered down the Marvel films.

  2. Pingback: Matthew Vaughn to direct Star Wars VII? | Bizzam!!

Leave a Reply

