Action/Adventure / Reviews

Hobo with a Shotgun (2011) Blu-Ray review (NSFW)

Hobo with a Shotgun Blu-RayAfter riding the rails into Hope Town, a Hobo (Rutger Hauer) picks up a shotgun to dole out justice to the scum of the city.

Hobo with a Shotgun is one of those movies that is just amazing.  Feeling like a straight to video Troma film from the ’80’s, only with a better eye for detail, shot composition, and story, this is an extremely fun movie.  Never slowing down, the film moves at a crisp pace and is so outlandish that you never know what is going to happen next.  Full of one liners, copious amounts of bright red blood, questionable acting, and Rutger Hauer, this is a film not to be missed if you are a fan of ’80’s exploitation action films.  Even if you aren’t a fan and can enjoy good ol’ action silliness, this film is for you.  The biggest thing to remember while watching the film is that they made it this way on purpose as an homage to those silly forgotten films of the ’80’s.

Typically, this is the section of my review where I would go into a little bit of detail about the plot and story.  I am not going to do that for this review.  It is better to go into this film fresh, unspoiled, and enjoy it for what it is.  What I will do, though, is give you a little bit of background on this film.

When Grindhouse (Planet Terror, Death Proof) was about to be released, there was a contest to make your own fake trailer.  Jason Eisner, the director of Hobo with a Shotgun, won the contest with the trailer you can watch here:

The trailer was then turned into a full fledged feature film, the second of the fake trailers to be produced (the first being Robert Rodriguez‘s Machete).

This film is just balls out silliness.  I found myself giggling as I watched it.  I grew up on Troma films and cheap straight to video action films.  That was about all our local video store had to rent.  All the actual new releases and decent films were always rented by the time I got out of school.  So I made due with straight to video action, horror, and Troma, which are a category unto themselves.  This film lovingly embraces the cliches and poor filmmaking techniques used by those directors and mashes it together into something that is actually fun to watch and you can actually appreciate what was accomplished here.

hobo-with-a-shotgunNow, I must make mention of Rutger Hauer as the Hobo.  He is actually what elevates this film above those this film pays homage to.  He clearly knows that this film is silly, but he plays it straight.  Despite his personal problems in the past, no one has ever questioned the acting abilities of Mr. Hauer.  He is a damned fine actor and this is what makes this film stand out.  He gives his all to his performance and actually sells the silliness of the film.

I know this is a short review that really tells you nothing about the film.  It is intentionally written this way.  I have written it to be vague but to try to convince you to see this film.  It is a phenomenal piece of homage filmmaking that deserves to be seen.  It is fun, it is gory, and it is funny.  It is nice to see Rutger Hauer return to a leading role as well.  I cannot recommend this film more highly.  I had a lot of fun watching it.  It made me giggle like a little Japanese schoolgirl watching Powerpuff Girls.  I think you will love it.  See it!

*** out of ****

You can buy Hobo with a Shotgun from Amazon here.

 

5 thoughts on “Hobo with a Shotgun (2011) Blu-Ray review (NSFW)

  1. I Absolutely LOVE This Flick, Dude.
    When Anyone Says, “Bring A Movie I Haven’t Seen Before That’s Simply To Wildly Wild For Words” I Tend To Go Reaching For My Copy Of “HOBO…” You’re Right, It’s Totally Like A Troma Flick, Only With Much More Attention To Detail.
    PLUS, I’ll Seen ANYTHING That Stars Dear Ole RUTGER!!!
    Love The Flick…
    …Love Your Review!!!
    -B.

    • Thanks! I was completely surprised by how much I loved this movie. I expected slightly entertaining. What I got was a fun ride all the way through. So many more people need to see this.

  2. Pingback: “Needst is not a word.” Knights of Badassdom trailer (mildly NSFW) | Bizzam!!

Leave a Reply

