BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week

BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week- March 12, 2013

Welcome to this weeks edition of BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week, the weekly article where I tell you what’s releasing this week on Blu-Ray.  As always, the links take you to Amazon where a small percentage of your purchase helps fund this site.  Well, without further ado, let’s get this party started!

Oscar nominated pick: Life of Pi

Life of Pi 3DFrom director Ang Lee (Brokeback Mountan, Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon) comes his most recent best picture nominee, Life of Pi.  While I haven’t seen the film yet, my brothers have and have told me it is one of the best films they have ever seen.  Now, to understand this, one of my brothers loves films like Trainspotting and anything by Darren Aronofsky (I do not like Aronofsky’s films).  The other brother likes mostly big budget films.  They both loved this.  They also both preached up the 3D effects.  If you are going to pick this up, I would recommend picking up the 3D version.  It has extra special features that are not on the standard Blu-Ray version.  I don’t have a 3D TV yet, but I will be picking up the 3D version.  It also has the 2D Blu-Ray disc, so no worries about not being able to watch it.

Awesome ’80’s pick # 1: Who Framed Roger Rabbit (25th Anniversary Edition)

Who Framed Roger Rabbit

All I have to say is, it’s about damn time.  One of the best films of the ’80’s, Who Framed Roger Rabbit is finally making it appearance on Blu-Ray.  This is just a magical, funny, amazing film.  The seamless interaction between live actors and animation has never worked so beautifully.  I would guess that the sales numbers on this Blu-Ray will be the deciding factor in whether the Mickey Mouse/Roger Rabbit film The Stooge actually gets made.  So, if you are interested in seeing more Roger Rabbit on the big screen, I would highly recommend picking this up at your earliest convenience.

Awesome ’80’s pick # 2: Willow

Willow Blu-RayAnother it’s about damn time.  I absolutely love this film.  Unabashedly.  Rumor is that when George Lucas couldn’t get the rights to The Hobbit, he made this film.  While he didn’t direct it, that honor goes to Ron Howard (Apollo 13, Angels and Demons), he did do some of the writing and producing on the film.  Val Kilmer has never been better and I had such a crush on Joanne Whalley after this film.   Jean Marsh and Warwick Davis are both phenomenal in this film.  It is a fun, fantasy romp with special effects that were well ahead of their time, even if they do look dated now.  This won’t stop you from enjoying the film, though.  The price is also hovering around $15, so it won’t break the bank to pick this up.

Children/animated pick: Rise of the Guardians

Rise of the Guardians

Even though this is a children’s film, this has terribly uninspired cover art.  Just sayin’.  If I hadn’t seen the trailers and found the concept fascinating, I would not recommend this.  That cover is just horrible.  Anywho, this looks to be a fun little film in which Santa Claus, the Easter Bunny, Jack Frost, Sandman, and the Tooth Fairy (I think) team up to save the world.  And Santa Claus is covered in tattoos.  Looks interesting to me.  I’ll have to pick this up for me and the boy and give it a go.  A co-worker has seen it and told me it was pretty good.

Weird and amazing acrobatic stuff pick: Cirque Du Soleil: Worlds Away

Cirque Du Soliel

So other than seeing some of the Cirque Du Soleil stuff on PBS, I am fairly uninformed when it comes to this.  While I did know they released a 3D film in theaters in December (I think), I know nothing else. All I know is that the stuff I’ve seen on PBS is amazing and that makes me want to pick this up.

Horror pick: The Blob (Criterion Collection)

The Blob Criterion

Is it shameful that as a film and horror fan that I have never actually seen the original version of this film?  Sure, I have seen bits and pieces over the years but have never sat down and actually watched the entire thing.  On the other hand, I have never actually purchased a Criterion Collection disc, either.  This may be the film that changes that. I have always been curious about the buzz around Criterion but none of the films they have released for the premium price have interested me enough to pay what they ask.  This may finally be the one that provokes me into paying it . . .

Straight to video ’90’s horror pick: Subspecies: The Blu-Ray Collection Volume 1

Subspecies collection 1

Oh, Full Moon Features, how I miss thee . . .There was nothing like the sheer awesomeness of Full Moon Features in the late ’80’s and ’90’s.  Trancers, Puppet Master, Meridian: Kiss of the Beast, Dollman, Demonic Toys . . .oh, such memories of low budget horror . . .I loved them all.  The one series I never did see, though, was Subspecies.  Now might be the time to rectify that with this collection.  These are all also being released individually.  I like the artwork on the individual releases much better.

Subspecies (20th Anniversary Edition)

Subspecies

Subspecies II: Bloodstone

Subspecies II

Subspecies III: Bloodlust

Subspecies III

Dramatic pick:  Hitchcock

Hitchcock

I pushed this film quite a bit on the site last year but never did manage to see it.  Word was good to middlin’ on the film.  I still find it a fascinating concept and really want to see it.  Word is that Anthony Hopkins, as normal, is fantastic in it, as is Helen Mirren.  Once I get a chance to pick it up, I will let you all know how it is.

Well, that’s it for this week.  Clearly, it is a pretty big week.  Don’t forget to help out the site by clicking through the links and buying from Amazon.  You know you wanna . . .

4 thoughts on “BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week- March 12, 2013

  1. Pingback: BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week- March 19 – March 26, 2013 | Bizzam!!

  2. Pingback: BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week- March 26, 2013 | Bizzam!!

  3. Pingback: BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week- April 2, 2013 | Bizzam!!

  4. Pingback: BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week: April 16 and April 23 | Bizzam!!

Leave a Reply

