BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week

BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week- March 26, 2013

Welcome, one and all, to the latest edition of BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week!  There are quite a few releases this week including some ’80’s horror re-issues from Scream Factory, Brad Pitt, Daniel Day-Lewis, and big ol’ dinosaurs trying to eat Jeff Goldblum.  So, let’s have at it, shall we?

Dramatic pick:  Lincoln

Lincoln bluYepper, the Best Picture nominees keep comin’ in.  This week there is only one, though, and it is Lincoln.  Last I checked, though, he’s not killing vampires in this one.  I could be wrong, and boy, would I like to see Daniel Day-Lewis kill some vampires as ‘Honest’ Abe Lincoln while being directed by Steven Spielberg . . .Alas, everything I’ve heard says there are no vampires.  All kidding aside, I haven’t seen this yet but am looking forward to it.  Daniel Day-Lewis is phenomenal in everything and I am quite curious to see how he does Abraham Lincoln.  This is a must purchase for me.

Sequel to a move no one remembers pick:  The Collection

The Collection bluSo here we have another film I haven’t seen but kind of want to.  I remember watching the first film, The Collector, but when this film was released I remembered nothing about it.  That’s not a good sign for a sequel, though.  I kind of remember liking the first one, but have watched it once when it first released and may not actually like it now.  Either way, this one looks interesting and word in horror circles is that it is actually pretty decent.  Of course, ‘legitimate’ critics hated it, so it can’t be all bad, right?

The Brad Pitt movie no one saw pick:  Killing Them Softly

Killing them Softly blu

Nope, haven’t seen this one either.  Not too sure I actually want to.  The trailers really didn’t do much for me, which is a shame considering all the talent involved.  Brad Pitt (love him).  Richard Jenkins (love him).  James Gandolfini (like him).  Ray Liotta (love him).  Honestly, I know this is a mob-ish movie but that’s all I know.  Not sure if it’s good or bad.  I think I may see it when the price drops a lot.  Can’t see myself picking this up for full retail price.

Dinosaur trilogy individually released so I don’t have to own part III pick # 1:  Jurassic Park

Jurassic Park blu

Just in time for the 3D re-release come the first, and best, in the trilogy, Jurassic Park.  I loves this movie.  But who doesn’t, right?  Spielberg was at the top of his game on this baby, as was ILM, the special effects house.  The late, great Stan Winston did a lot of work an this as well, and it shows.  I couldn’t bring myself to buy the previous box set that was released due to my complete and utter hatred of the third film in the series.  Thankfully, the three of them are getting individual releases so I can buy the first two without tainting my Blu-Ray collection with the third.

Dinosaur trilogy individually released so I don’t have to own part III pick # 2: The Lost World: Jurassic Park

The Lost World blu

A lot of people talk smack about this film, but I like it.  This was Spielberg going bat-sh!t crazy and giving us a t-rex rampaging through a city.  Sure, it may have been a big rip off of King Kong, but dagnabit, I liked it!

Just because I am a completionist pick:  Jurassic Park III

Jurassic Park III blu

There are no words in the English language to describe my hatred and sheer derision of this film.  Terrible.  Damn near unwatchable.  I will say no more lest I get upset.

Infamous horror pick:  From Beyond

From Beyond blu

Anything directed by Stuart Gordon tends to be an infamous piece of film.  From Beyond is no exception.  This is one of those films that I have heard of, have never seen, and know nothing about.  I’m not sure if I’m even interested in seeing this, but I thought I’d include it so those of you who have seen it and love it could be aware of it’s release.

Crazy floating killer ball pick:  Phantasm II

Phantasm II blu

From the director of Bubba Ho Tep and the upcoming release John Dies at the End, we finally have a Blu-Ray release of Phantasm II.  I have seen the first couple of Phantasm films, but it has been so long ago that I remember nothing except that Angus Scrimm worked in a mortuary (I think) and controlled floating killer balls.  This is one of those films that I saw when I was young and rented a lot of horror VHS tapes from the local video store.  They never seemed to have new releases in by the time school let out, so I was left with straight to video horror and schlocky action and fantasy films.  That is when I saw this film.

Well, that’s it for this week, folks.  If interested in any of these title, click through the links to Amazon.  Your purchase helps keep this site and article running.  Check back next Sunday for next weeks picks!

3 thoughts on “BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week- March 26, 2013

  1. Pingback: This Week’s DVDs: H.P. Lovecraft, Lego Star Wars and the Most Unnecessary Star Trek Blu-rays | Musings of a Mild Mannered Man

  2. Pingback: BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week- April 2, 2013 | Bizzam!!

  3. Pingback: BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week: April 16 and April 23 | Bizzam!!

Leave a Reply

