BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week

BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week- April 2, 2013

Ladies and gentlemen, it is that time.  Oh, yes, it is.  It is time for BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week!  I know you were all excited and wondering where it was.  Well, seeing as yesterday was Easter, I took the day off.  So here I am, early Monday morning compiling the big releases of the week.  There isn’t much.  It is another slow week on the new release Blu-Ray front, but let’s have at it, shall we?  And don’t forget, folks, to click the link or the picture to be taken to Amazon where you can order the title, if you so desire, and help out this site!

History Channel mini-series pick:  The Bible

The Bible blu

This is the only major release this week and it comes from The History Channel.  Don’t get me wrong, I love The History Channel.  Well, I used to when it actually showed history stuff before all the American Pickers, Pawn Stars, and Swamp People.  It is just me, or is The History Channel becoming like MTV?  When have you seen a music video on MTV?  When have you seen a show about history on The History Channel?  Anywho, I digress.

Word it that this mini-series is pretty good.  I didn’t watch any of it, and I’m not sure how interested I am in picking this up.  I think I might when the price drops (if the price drops; The History Channel is notorious for not dropping prices).  If you have seen this, feel free to comment below and tell me what I am or am not missing with this one.

Trippy Don Coscorelli pick:  John Dies at the End

John Dies at the End blu

Have I mentioned that I want to see this one?  A lot?   Well, I do.  The trailer makes it look pretty awesome.  This is a must buy for me.  Will I get it this week?  Probably not.  I am movie purchasing celibate right now.  I counted up how many Blu-Ray’s I am behind right now and that number is staggering.  60.  That is how many movies I have bought and haven’t had a chance to watch yet.  Seriously.  60.  So, when I get through some of the ones I have already bought, I will check this one out.  I tell myself that but will probably end up picking this up anyway.  I have a distinct lack of willpower when it comes to Blu-Ray’s and movies in general.

Superhero big money pick:  Marvel Cinematic Universe Phase One: Avengers Assembled

Marvel Cinematic Universe Phase One blu

For those of you who have some extra cash sitting around and don’t know what to do with it, this set is for you.  It’s a beast.  Here is what’s included:

• Marvel’s The Avengers film (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray)
• Captain America: The First Avenger film (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray)
• Thor film (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray)
• Iron Man 2 film (Blu-ray)
• The Incredible Hulk film (Blu-ray)
• Iron Man film (Blu-ray)
• Top-secret Bonus Disc

So, you get 10 discs of the Marvel films.  That is all well and good, but who doesn’t already have these?  Has someone been sitting around just waiting for this?  Other than the cool packaging and bonus Iron Man 3 stuff, there doesn’t seem to be much reason to buy this.  For me at least.  I have all the films already and have spent a small fortune for them on Blu.  Not gonna spend another small fortune to re-buy them.  The packaging is really cool, though.

Silly British/Irish horror film starring a comedian as a dead clown pick: Stitches

Stitches blu

So, the first thing that drew my attention to this was the cover.  I like it a lot.  Simple.  Creepy.  Bad Clown.  I like it.  So, I had never heard of this before then I watched this trailer (something has been up with the embedding on WordPress lately; just click the link to watch):

Ok, so now you can see how this is a must see, right!?  Is this the silly clown film successor to the amazing Killer Klowns from Outer Space!?  Oh, my Jesus, I hope so!  This looks AWESOME!!  I don’t like clowns in real life (that damned James Bond film Octopussy ruined them for me), but I like killer clown movies . . .of which there are far too few. . .Has anyone seen this?  If so, let me know how awesome it is in the comments!

That’s it for this week, peeps.  I hope you all had a good Easter, and I’ll be back next week with more new releases vying for your hard earned dollars!

2 thoughts on “BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week- April 2, 2013

  1. Pingback: BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week- April 9, 2013 | Bizzam!!

  2. Pingback: BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week: April 16 and April 23 | Bizzam!!

Leave a Reply

