Underrated Actors

Clancy Brown

Clancy Brown

Born Clarence J. Brown III, January 5, 1959 in Urbana, OH.

Selected Filmography

  • The Adventures of Buckaroo Banzai Across the 8th Dimension (1984)
  • The Bride (1985)
  • Highlander (1986)
  • Pet Sematary Two (1992)
  • The Shawshank Redemption (1994)
  • Starship Troopers (1997)
  • The Hurricane (1999)
  • The SpongeBob SquarePants Movie (2004)
  • The Guardian (2006)
  • Pathfinder (2007)
  • The Informant! (2009)
  • A Nightmare on Elm Street (2010)
  • Green Lantern (2011)
  • Cowboys and Aliens (2011)
  • John Dies at the End (2012)
  • SpongeBob SquarePants (1999-present)-voice
  • Carnivale (2003-2005)

Since first seeing him in Highlander when I was just a wee laddie, I have been a fan of Clancy Brown.  With the utterance of the phrase “It’s better to burn out than to fade away”, the man has been on my radar.  I don’t think I really saw him again until Pet Sematary Two, and instantly recognized him.  His performances continue to enrapture me.  While he usually plays the tough guy, finding out that he voiced Mr. Krabs on SpongeBob SquarePants has me believing he has a great comedic streak in him.  (Yes, I just found out that he voiced Mr. Krabs.  I never watched the show until recently when my 2 1/2 year old started liking it.)

Here’s hoping Mr. Brown continues landing big roles and keeps gracing us with his presence on the big screen.  His work in The Shawshank Redemption was a revelation.

Clancy Brown as The Kurgan in Highlander

Leave a Reply

