BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week

BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week- July 16, 2013

Welcome, one and all, to this weeks edition of BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week.  There is quite a lot coming out this week, so let’s get this party started.  This might take a minute . . .

Gonna make you cry like a baby pick: 42: The Jackie Robinson Story

42 blu

This looks like one of those movies I absolutely abhor.  While I tend to like sports movies a lot (even though I am not a sports fan), this looks to be a manufactured heart-string tugger.  I cannot stand those types of films.  You can always tell, usually from the beginning of the film, if a film is going to do that.  The trailers certainly made this one look like that.  Reviews were overwhelmingly positive, though, and it sits at a 76% on Rotten Tomatoes.  I’ll check it out when it goes cheap.

The remake that will gross you out pick:  Evil Dead

Evil Dead blu

I still have yet to see this, but it is super high on my list.  Word is that it is not a travesty like it could have been.  I absolutely adore all 3 original Evil Dead films, and cannot wait to check it out.  I hear it’s pretty gory, too.  Oh, and stick around through the credits for a nice little surprise.

Stallone is still buff pick:  Bullet to the Head

Bullet to the Head blu

I really like Sylvester Stallone.  I really like Jason Momoa.  I tend to really like Walter Hill (The Warriors, 48 Hours) as a director.  I was mad about this film and don’t know if I really ever want to see it.  Why is that, you ask?  Well, originally, Thomas Jane was cast as Stallone’s cop partner.  He was recast because the studio demanded an ethnic character to be the cop partner.  While I have absolutely nothing against Sung Kang (Thomas Jane’s replacement), I just think it was super shitty that the filmmakers would cast who they wanted, only to be overruled.  Super not cool.  I will still probably see this, though, just when it goes cheap.

Finally getting a release stateside pick:  Solomon Kane

Solomn Kane blu

All I have to say is that it’s about f’n time!  I have seen this (don’t ask me how), and can personally vouch for it’s awesomeness.  This is one of the better fantasy/action/adventure films in recent memory.  I certainly liked it a lot and it is a must buy.  This is from director Michael J. Bassett (Silent Hill: RevelationDeathwatch) and features the last performance of Pete Postlethwaite.  I highly recommend it.

TV pick # 1:  Hell on Wheels: The Complete Second Season

Hell on Wheels Season 2 blu

I’ve been waiting for this one to release.  I haven’t seen a single episode of Season 2, but I loved Season 1.  I chose not to watch this when it was broadcast because I hate waiting until the next week.  I prefer to wait until the Seasons release and then watch them all in one fell swoop.  If you haven’t seen the show, it is a quality western.  I am starting to think that HBO, AMC, and BBC are about the only channels worth watching for dramatic television.  Almost all of their shows are of high quality.  This is no different.  Love it.  Buy it.

TV pick # 2:  Orphan Black

Orphan Black blu

I know absolutely nothing about this show.  All I know is that it is BBC and that automatically makes it worth checking out.  I just wish BBC would lower the prices on some of their sets.  Like HBO, they are pretty steep sometimes.

It’s about damn time pick:  Greystoke: Legend of Tarzan, Lord of the Apes

Greystoke blu

Ok, here it is, officially, again . . .I remember loving this film when I was younger, and anything with Christopher Lambert is worth watching.  I remember the film being dry, but I dug it.  I have been waiting for this for quite awhile on Blu-Ray, and am glad it’s finally coming out.  I will be picking this up.

Well, folks, that’s it for this week.  Certainly a big week for new releases.  As always, if you see anything that tickles your fancy, click the box art of through the links above the art, to purchase the title from Amazon.  A small portion comes back to the site to help with the maintenance of said site.  Until next week, take care.

5 thoughts on “BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week- July 16, 2013

  1. Pingback: BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week- July 23, 2013 | BIZZAM!!

  2. Pingback: BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week- July 30, 2013 | BIZZAM!!

  3. Pingback: BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week- August 27, 2013 | BIZZAM!!

  4. Pingback: Solomon Kane (2009) Blu-Ray review | BIZZAM!!

  5. Pingback: BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week- September 3, 2013 | BIZZAM!!

Leave a Reply

