BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week

BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week- July 30, 2013

Welcome, welcome to this weeks edition of BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week!  Let’s not waste any time with this drivel, since we all know why you’re here . . .to see what new and exciting Blu-Ray’s are releasing this week!  So let’s get this party started!

DC animation goodness pick: Justice League: The Flashpoint Paradox

Justice League Flashpoint blu

Here we have DC’s newest animated feature.  If there is one thing to be said for DC, it’s that they make some great animated films.  While Marvel tends to own the cinemas right now, DC owns the straight to video market.  I have yet to see a bad DC animated film, and I’m sure this will not be the first.  I am looking forward to checking this out.  I’ll put money on it being pretty good.

Sequel to a terrible movie pick: G.I. Joe: Retaliation

G. I. Joe Retaliation blu

There are very few films I simply cannot watch all the way through.  In fact, I think I can count on one hand the films I either walked out of the theater before it was over or shut it off and never looked back.  The first G. I. Joe film was one of the few.  I watched part of it, shut it off, and have sung the curses of the film ever since.  And what was my biggest problem with the film?  Channing Tatum.  I did not know who he was until that film and have hated him ever since.  I refuse to watch anything he is in.  No matter how much I like Dwayne Johnson and Bruce Willis, even they do not cancel out the fact that Tatum is in this.  Of course, word is that he dies in the first ten minutes . . .so, maybe, just maybe, I can stomach it . . .I must do a lot of soul searching to decide if I will ever watch this, even though word is that it is halfway decent.

Underrated John Carpenter pick: The Fog (Collector’s Edition)

The Fog blu

This is NOT the Tom Welling starring film.  This is the original John Carpenter classic from 1980.  This is also another release from Scream Factory, who seem to put out quality Blu-Ray transfer’s of some of the forgotten gems of horror cinema.  While this is no way John Carpenter’s best film, it is damned interesting and quite scary.  I dig the film, though I have to admit it has been quite a few years since I have seen it.  Adrienne Barbeau, Jamie Lee Curtis and Janet Leigh in a film together?  Pure Awesome-sauce!  And look at the box art!  Amazing!  Way to go, Scream Factory!  Looks like a winner!

Space, the final frontier pick: Star Trek: The Next Generation Season 4

Star Trek TNG Season 4 blu

It’s the fourth season of Star Trek: The Next Generation.  What more needs to be said?  If you are a fan, you will have already pre-ordered this.  If you aren’t, well, nothing will convince you.  I like this series quite a lot, but I have all of the series on DVD.  I really can’t justify spending all the cash on these and having them twice.  I like the series and the movies, but that is a financial burden I cannot bear.  They do look awfully pretty on Blu-Ray, though . . .

Creepy as all get out Criterion pick:  The Devil’s Backbone

The Devils Backbone Criterion blu

This is, by far, my favorite film from Guillermo del Toro.  Well, actually, Pan’s Labyrinth comes close.  I absolutely love this film, though.  There have been quite a few Criterion releases that I have thought about picking up, but I am forced to be cheap, usually.  The only Criterion release I actually own is The Curious Case of Benjamin Button and I got that for next to nothing.  This is a Criterion release that I will certainly be picking up, no doubt about it.  The film is a very interesting ghost story that demands to be seen; try to go in fresh and read nothing about it.  Much like Peter Jackson, Guillermo del Toro got started in horror films, and his unique vision here is amazing.  This is a must see.

Well, that’s about all for this week.  Not a huge week, but not the worst.  There is some really good stuff here, so be sure to click through the cover art or links to visit Amazon where you can purchase the titles you want.  When you do, a small percentage comes back to the site to help with the content you all love.

3 thoughts on “BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week- July 30, 2013

  1. Pingback: BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week- August 27, 2013 | BIZZAM!!

  2. Pingback: BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week- September 3, 2013 | BIZZAM!!

  3. Pingback: BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week- September 10, 2013 | BIZZAM!!

Leave a Reply

