TV ruminations and news

Who is gonna be the new Doctor (Who)?

DOCTOR WHO 8mbOk, so we all know that Matt Smith, the 11th Doctor, will be leaving this year.  So, the big question on geek minds lately, besides the casting of Star Wars VII, is who will take over as the next iteration of Doctor Who.

Well, word is the BBC will be announcing the next Doctor this Sunday with a live show featuring Matt Smith and showrunner Steven Moffatt.  The show will air 7PM UK time (2 PM Eastern, 11 AM Pacific in the States).  It is expected to air simultaneously on BBC America.

Doctor Who’s 50th Anniversary Special will air November 23, 2013.  The annual Christmas Special will be Matt Smith’s final appearance as The Doctor.  BBC has confirmed this via this Tweet:

As a geek, it shames me to say that I didn’t discover Doctor Who until recently.  While I was aware of the character and the show, it wasn’t until the new series that I finally fell in love with it.  While I don’t dig the old series (BLASPHEMY!!), I super love the new series.  I just started the 4th season with David Tennant and have yet to see an episode with Matt Smith.

Stay tuned to this site as I will have the announcement as soon as BBC makes it.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s