BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week

BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week- August 20, 2013

Welcome, welcome, everyone, to this weeks edition of BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week.  I was on a hiatus for a week and a half, but now I return to offer you all the wonderful choices that are dropping on Blu-Ray this week to contend for your hard earned dollars.  As always, if you see something you are interested in, click through the link or cover art to be taken to Amazon where, if you purchase, a small percentage comes back to the site for maintenance and upkeep.  Let’s get this party started!

Animated feature pick: Epic

Epic bluSo the tagline at the bottom of the cover art “From the Creators of Ice Age” doesn’t instill confidence.  I have seen the Ice Age films with my son, and let’s just say they are not good.  At all.  Terrible, in fact.  Does this mean this film is terrible?  Not at all.  It just gives me pause before I pick this one up.  I will pick this up, eventually, for my son, though.  I know he would dig it, so if you have young uns, you’ll probably be picking this up too.

HBO pick: Boardwalk Empire Season 3

Boardwalk Empire 3rd blu

I have not seen Boardwalk Empire, much to my chagrin.  I have seen trailers, I have heard word of mouth, I have seen articles on the interweb.  I have yet to see the show.  I will see it eventually.  I really want to see it a lot.  I have heard it is phenomenal.  If you are a fan of this show, you already have it preordered or are planning a trip to Best Buy tomorrow morning.  I will check this out when I get the time, but will have to check out seasons 1 and 2 first.

Star Trek TV pick:  Start Trek Enterprise Season 2

Star Trek Enterprise Season 2 blu

This is the only Star Trek TV series I haven’t seen.  Not because I wasn’t interested but because there is so little time to watch all that I want to watch.  Right now, though, it is in my Instant Queue on Netflix.  I will probably watch a couple episodes and, if I like it, pick it up.  There is a lot of hate for this series, and I’m not sure why.  By all accounts, it was well made and it stars Scott Bakula (Quantum Leap, Lord of Illusions).  This is another release to suck some of the interest of Star Trek: Into Darkness, which releases on Blu-Ray next month.

Stuart Gordon pick #1:  The Pit and the Pendulum

Pit and Pendulum bluOh, sweet jiminy christmas, yes!  It is finally coming to Blu-Ray!  It’s about damned time, too.  I haven’t seen this film in years, but loved it when I was a teenager.  I suppose the nudity didn’t hurt back then, either.  This is Stuart Gordon’s adaptation of the Edgar Allan Poe classic tale.  I cannot wait to pick this up and watch it again.  Oh, it has been far too long since I have seen this . . .

Stuart Gordon pick # 2:  Castle Freak

Castle Freak bluThis Stuart Gordon pick I have not seen.  I have heard of it, by title alone, and know nothing about it.  The fact it is from Stuart Gordon is enough to make me want to pick it up and check it out.  If you’ve seen it, leave a comment and let me know what it’s about and if it’s any good.

BBC TV pick:  Being Human Season 5

Being Human Season 5 bluI have seen the American version of Being Human on Syfy, but have yet to catch the original BBC series.  Lately, I have been a firm believer that BBC and HBO are the only two networks putting out super-quality shows.  The fact that it says BBC on the cover will make me check it out.  Just haven’t gotten around to checking out the first four seasons.  Word it that this is a pretty good show.

Well, folks, that’s it for this week.  Hope you enjoyed it.  Starting next week, I will also be looking through the new music and video game releases to give a more comprehensive list.  Until that time, take care.  See you next week!

2 thoughts on “BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week- August 20, 2013

  1. Pingback: BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week- August 27, 2013 | BIZZAM!!

  2. Pingback: BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week- September 10, 2013 | BIZZAM!!

Leave a Reply

