BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week

BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week- August 27, 2013

Welcome, one and all to this week’s edition of BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week.  This week, I am going to start adding video games and music to the picks, so you will have a little bit more of a comprehensive entertainment package.  As always, if you see something you’re interested in, click the link or cover art to be taken to Amazon where you can order the items.  A small percentage comes back to the site for maintenance.  Let’s get this party started, shall we?

Overly expensive to make pick:  The Great Gatsby

The Great Gatsby bluThis is the big movie release this week and I know a lot of folks are going to pick this up.  I cannot understand why.  I have seen the trailers and have zero interest in seeing this.  It looks to be an overly expensive piece of eye candy for a period piece.  I do like DiCaprio and Joel Edgerton, but can’t stand Tobey Macguire and Carey Mulligan.  I think I’ll be passing on this one.

Michael Bay’s small budget pick:  Pain and Gain

Pain and Gain blu

So, here we have Michael Bay’s (Bad Boys II, Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen) “low budget” picture, Pain and Gain.  I really don’t like Michael Bay and his overly ADHD filming style.  For god’s sake, man, keep the camera steady!  It doesn’t need to be constantly shaking and spinning!  I want to see what is going on, not get motion sickness.  That being said, I am interested in this film.  I really like Mark Wahlberg and Dwayne Johnson.  That is worth the price of admission alone.  I will be picking this up and checking it out eventually.

Zombies everywhere pick: The Walking Dead Season 3

The Walking Dead Season 3 blu

One of the most compelling TV series I have ever seen is The Walking Dead.  Releasing this week is the third season of the show.  If you haven’t seen it, what is wrong with you!?  It is an absolutely wonderful show that deserves to be seen.  Season three is not an exception.  Wonderful writing, acting, zombies.  How can you go wrong?

Motorcycles everywhere pick:  Sons of Anarchy Season 5

Sons of Anarchy season 5

I have yet to see a single episode of this show, but everyone I know swears it is amazing.  I just haven’t had the time to catch it yet.  I suppose I probably will when the series is finished and I can watch is marathon style.

The bear who loves honey pick:  The Many Adventures of Winnie the Pooh

Winnie the Pooh

There have been so many Winnie the Pooh cartoons that I am not sure if I have ever seen this one.  This was originally released in 1977, so odds are that I have seen it at some point when I was young.  While I am not a huge Winnie the Pooh fan, my son will certainly get a kick out of this.  As such, I will be picking this up for him.

“I come in peace.”  “You leave in pieces,” pick:  Dark Angel (I Come in Peace)

Dark Angel

Here is another one of the Scream Factory releases.  I am one of the five people who actually saw this in the theater when it was called I Come in Peace.  While I remember very little about the movie, I do remember seeing it when Dolph Lundgren was riding the popularity after Rocky IV.  I remember liking the movie, but that was in 1990.  I will probably pick this up, though.  I’ll bet it is as awesome as it was then!

Music pick:  Avenged Sevenfold- Hail to the King

A7X Hail to the King

I like Avenged Sevenfold.  While they are not my favorite band, they have constantly been interesting, mixing musical styles to great effect.  I have always said that if Queen and Guns and Roses had a bastard child that had a child with Good Charlotte, that is Avenged Sevenfold.  This new CD will most assuredly continue that tradition.

Music pick # 2: DevilDriver- Winter Kills

Devildriver

This is some pretty heavy stuff.  I like DevilDriver and have for quite awhile.  While Dez’s voice isn’t the best, the band is phenomenal.  I will certainly be picking this up rocking it out hard.  I haven’t heard anything off this album yet, though.

Well, that’s all for this week.  I was going to add video games this week, but there really wasn’t anything that caught my interest.  Until next week, take care and enjoy the new releases!

2 thoughts on “BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week- August 27, 2013

  1. Pingback: BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week- September 3, 2013 | BIZZAM!!

  2. Pingback: BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week- September 10, 2013 | BIZZAM!!

Leave a Reply

