BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week

BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week- September 3, 2013

Here we are, the first week of September, in the year of twenty thirteen.  You know what that means?  Fall is coming!  Halloween is coming!!  So, for the month of October, I will only be reviewing horror films.  If you have any suggestions, feel free to leave them in the comments.

So what does that have to do with new releases?  Absolutely nothing.  Just figured I’d put it out there. So, let’s get to the new releases this week, shall we?  As always, if you see anything you’re interested in, click the link or box art to go to Amazon where a small percentage of your purchase comes back to the site for the running of this article.  Let’s get this party started!

Rob Zombie’s film that sadly didn’t get a wide release pick:  The Lords of Salem

The Lords of Salem bluRob Zombie has always been hit or miss.  Not just his films, but his music as well.  While House of 1000 Corpses was fairly decent, The Devil’s Rejects is a masterpiece of grindhouse cinema.  Let’s not even discuss his Halloween remake . . .(I never did see Halloween II).  The Lords of Salem, though, looks to be the strange sort of grindhouse cinema that Zombie excelled at in The Devil’s Rejects, just stranger.  I cannot wait to see this film. I hope that this can come close to The Devil’s Rejects . . .

Based on a true story pick:  The Iceman

The Iceman blu

This film is high on my list.  I really like Michael Shannon (even in Man of Steel).  This is based on the true story of Richard Kuklinski, a notorious mob hitman.  He also managed to have a wife and family life.  It looks to be a fascinating film, and word is that it is pretty good.  I have pushed it a couple times on the site, and now that it’s released, I can finally check it out.  Have you seen it  Is it worth picking up?

They weren’t wasting any time pick:  Sharknado

Sharknado blu

Look at the tag line on the cover art.  It says ‘Enough Said!’  I think they are right.  Enough said.  I may check this out, though.  Word is that it is terrible, but a fun terrible.  Very nice.  This originally aired on Syfy about a month ago.

Hit from out of left field pick:  Now You See Me

Now You See Me blu

As a movie reviewer, blogger, and all around movie fan, sometimes a movie just comes out of left field that you have never heard of.  Now You See Me is one of those movies.  It hit big at the box office. Friends of mine have seen it and said it’s good.  I know nothing about the film.  I don’t think I have even seen a trailer for it.  Is it any good?  I have no idea.  I may see it eventually, but at the moment it is still barely on my radar.

I AM SPARTACUS!  NO, I AM SPARTACUS! pick:  Spartacus: War of the Damned

Spartacus War of the Damned blu

As far as I know, Charlton Heston is not in this show.  Yes, I jest.  I have not seen this show yet, but people seem to dig it.  It looks pretty cool, and I will eventually check it out. Time tends to be a big factor in choosing what I can watch.  I will get to it eventually.

Miscellaneous TV picks:

Person of Interest blu

Revolution blu

Haven blu

Its Always Sunny in Philadelphia blu

The League blu

The Office blu

DaVinci's Demons blu

Vampire Diaries blu

Horror Classics Double Features picks:

Clearly, we are closing in on Halloween season.  And these double packs are a great way to get started with the celebration early!  There is not a bad film in the bunch!  Granted, they are not all great, but none are terrible.

Horror Classics Hellraiser

Horror Classics Children of the Corn Sleepwalkers

Horror Classics Reanimator Hills Have Eyes

Music pick:  Nine Inch Nails- Hesitation Marks (Deluxe)

nin Hesitation Marks

I’ve heard a couple of tracks off this album and I cannot help but think that the best of Nine Inch Nails is far, far behind him.  I think it is pretty terrible, honestly.  Of course, other than the couple of songs I have heard, the rest of the album could be magnificent.  Have you heard it?  Am I wrong?

Video Game pick # 1:  Diablo III (Xbox 360, PS3)

Diablo IIII’ve been waiting for this one for awhile.  With the PC requirement of a constant internet connection, I refused to buy it.  Now that it is releasing on consoles, I can finally check it out.  I really dug the others in the series so I am pretty stoked to pick this up.

Video Game pick # 2: Rayman Legends (Xbox 360, PS3, WiiU)

Rayman LegendsI almost bought a WiiU for this title alone.  When the game was pushed back, so was my purchase of the WiiU.  When it went multi-platform, there went my purchase of Nintendo’s most recent console.  I will consider a WiiU, when they release a must have title.  Anywho, Rayman Origins was an amazing title and this looks to be even better, with more of a focus on music.  I am super excited to get my hands on this.

Well, folks, that’s it for this week.  Yes, I know it’s a day late (thank you Labor Day!), and very soon I am going to attempt to post this weekly article a week in advance so that you will have plenty of time to preorder the titles you want ans still receive them day and date.  Well, take care, all, and I’ll see you next week!

One thought on “BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week- September 3, 2013

  1. Pingback: BIZZAM!! Picks of the Week- September 10, 2013 | BIZZAM!!

Leave a Reply

