Documentary / Reviews

Drew: The Man Behind the Poster (2013) DVD review

Drew TMBTP

This documentary tells the story of Drew Struzan, artist behind some of the most iconic movie posters of all time, including Back to the FutureStar Warsand Indiana Jones.

Some of the most iconic movie posters of all time have been painted by one man: Drew Struzan.  Anyone who is a movie geek knows the name.  Anyone who has watched a movie in the last 30 years knows the art.  This documentary tells the life story of the man, through interviews with Struzan, his wife, and numerous filmmakers including George Lucas, Steven Spielberg, Guillermo del Toro, and Frank Darabont, not to mention the actors Harrison Ford, Michael J. Fox, Thomas Jane, and Sam Witwer.

Thomas Jane talking about Drew Struzan

Thomas Jane talking about Drew Struzan

As a movie geek, I have been extremely familiar with Struzan’s work for years.  Watching this documentary was a treat.  The name is just as synonymous with Star Wars and Indiana Jones as John Williams and George Lucas and Steven Spielberg.  The man is nothing short of a movie icon.

The film covers his early years from an unloved family life through his years producing album art until his rise in, and subsequent retirement from, the film industry.  It is a fascinating watch for anyone who appreciates not only fine art, but also the films which he depicted.

What I found extremely interesting, and did not know, was that Struzan painted the covers for Alice Cooper’s Greatest Hits and Welcome to My Nightmare.  I have been a fan of Cooper’s old stuff for as long as I can remember, and discovering that Struzan did the artwork was amazing for me.  I have owned both of those albums as records, cassettes, and CD and have never realized it was Struzan who did the art.  I feel the need to relinquish my geek union card now. . .

Yes, this is a short review.  Why?  Well, what else is there to say?  If you know who Struzan is, you will enjoy this documentary.  If you recognize any of the posters I mentioned earlier, you will enjoy this.  While it is not a hard hitting expose, it is a nice little documentary about a man that more people need to appreciate.  It also doesn’t hurt that the man genuinely seems to be a good guy who never let his fame go to his head.  He seems to be a family man and grandfather first and foremost, and I can’t help but be even more respectful of him for that.

*** out of ****

One thought on “Drew: The Man Behind the Poster (2013) DVD review

  1. I can’t wait to see this. I love Drew’s work. I have for just about most of my life, lol. My favorite is his art work for John Carpenter’s The Thing, which, I was told by someone else who had reviewed this movie, he did in one night. Guy’s just epic. Great review!

Leave a Reply

