Movie Ruminations / Ruminations

RUMOR: Keanu Reeves to play Doctor Strange!?

doctor strangeWe know that Doctor Strange is one of Marvel’s Phase 3 titles that is currently in pre-production.  Scott Derrickson (Sinister) has been hired as director.  What Marvel hasn’t told us, though, is who is going to play the titular character in the film.

Obviously, this is a character that is notoriously difficult to cast.  A former surgeon who turn to the occult and becomes ‘Sorcerer Supreme’ is going to be a difficult role to play and to portray properly on the big screen.  Many actors names have come down the pipeline for being in contention for the role.  Joaquin Phoenix was the front runner, but turned the role down.  He was Marvel’s first pick.

Since that time, many, many more actors have either had meeting or the internet put them in consideration.  Colin Farrell and Benedict Cumberbatch are two of the most recent.  Cumberbatch has actually had his name in the ring far longer than anyone else, for years it seems.  (Probably not that long, but the internet suggested him long before the movie was even announced.)

The most recent actor in contention is Keanu Reeves.  He is also the best choice for the role and the one most likely to accept it.  While doing a press junket for John Wick, ScreenRant asked the actor this:

Screen Rant: Our website came up with a list of actors we want to see play Doctor Strange, and you’re name was right at the top of the list.

Really?

SR: If Marvel came calling, would you be interested?

Yeah – you know, I don’t know a lot about Doctor Strange.

SR: He’s magic, man.

Is he?

SR: He’s the Sorcerer Supreme.

The Sorcerer Supreme?

SR: You should look into it.

After this, I’m going to go check it out, because I heard about that. So I can’t speak knowledgeably about ‘Doctor Strange.’ But would I be good for the guy?

SR: You would, I think you’d be great. You’d be perfect.

Cool. Well, I’ve gotta check it out. Because I like that kind of stuff.

SR: So – superheroes in general? You’d be interested in another comic book movie, perhaps?

Yeah, I mean, to me, I love that – I think ‘John Wick’ falls into this in a sense, the world creation. I like those movies. I go to those movies. I grew up on those movies. I like acting in those movies. You get to do fun, cool **** and entertain. I love all that.

So does that mean he was super-down for the flick?  Nope.  That just means he was being nice to some geeky journalist.  (No offense, ScreenRant.  I’m a geeky blogger, so . . .)

I think this little Q & A, though, got a rise out of Marvel.  Keanu  has been on something of a comeback lately, with the wonderful Man of Tai Chi, his statements regarding his desire to return to the dead in the water Speed franchise, his obvious enthusiasm about Bill and Ted 3, and the well-received John Wick opening next week.  This role of Doctor Stephen Strange could be just what he needs to get Bill and Ted 3  finally made and get studios interested in making Speed 3.  This could be the stepping stone necessary to blast Keanu Reeves back into the spotlight and make him a household name again.

I know I am super-stoked to see this.  I have been a fan of Keanu’s since Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure and Point Break.  I want to see this happen, Marvel.  I want to see this happen NOW!  Do what you have to do and sign Keanu Reeves to the role of Doctor Strange.  Please.

Keanu Reeves

One thought on “RUMOR: Keanu Reeves to play Doctor Strange!?

  1. Pingback: Actor Casted to Play Doctor Strange - Gamers Sphere

Leave a Reply

