Children's / Reviews

The SpongeBob Movie: Sponge out of Water (2015) review

Sponge_out_of_water_poster_2

 

The SpongeBob Movie: Sponge out of Water

Starring: Tom Kenny, Bill Fagerbakke, Clancy Brown, Antonio Banderas

Written by: Glenn Berger, Jonathon Aibel, Stephen Hillenburg, Paul Tibbett

Directed by: Paul Tibbett

When Burger Beard (Antonio Banderas) steals Mr. Krabs’ (Clancy Brown) recipe for Krabby Patties, it’s up to enemies SpongeBob SquarePants (Tom Kenny) and Plankton (Mr. Lawrence) to team up and retrieve the formula.

The SpongeBob Movie: Sponge out of Water is a hilarious, theatrical offshoot of the immensely popular Nickelodeon show.  It is also the sequel to the 2004 hit The SpongeBob SquarePants Movie.  While I do love the show, I did not like the 2004 movie, despite a terribly catchy song:

Be aware.  This review is going to be a little different than normal, because, honestly, how can you actually review something like SpongeBob?  The show and film are both so random as to be almost unreviewable.  While some critics will try, and in the process nitpick the film to death, it is a SPONGEBOB: SPONGE OUT OF WATERchildren’s film that is not aiming for anything other than the lowest common denominator.  It is aiming to be funny for children and the adults who are forced to take them to see it.  And this film hits that target smack dab in the bulls-eye.  If you like the show, you will like the movie.  If you hate the show, well, this will not change your mind.

The film is a blend of live action, traditional animation, and CGI.  While it is mostly traditional animation, the Burger Beard scenes with Antonio Banderas are live action, and the final showdown between Burger Beard, SpongeBob, Patrick Star (Bill Fagerbakke), Mr. Krabs, Squidward Tentacles (Rodger Bumpass), Sandy Cheeks (Carolyn Lawrence), and Plankton is live action with CGI.  Not to mention whatever kind of animation Bubbles (Matt Berry) the dolphin who watches over the universe was.  Yes, I just typed that sentence.  Bubbles the dolphin watches over the universe.

I took my four year old son to see this film.  This was our first theatrical experience together.  His mother tried to take him last summer, and he wouldn’t sit still and watch the film.  While he didn’t sit still during this film, he did pay attention.  He sat next to me.  He sat four seats down from me.  He sat behind me and in front of me.  He finally decided to kick back on the steps next to me.  He ate Red Vines and popcorn and drank overly priced Coke that tasted like theater Coke i.e. cheap, generic Kroger cola.  I take that back.  Kroger cola is better than the swill they serve in AMC and call Coke.  In all fairness, I do not normally like Coke products.  Yes, My son and I had the complete theatrical experience and it was wonderful.  I have been waiting since his birth to be able to take him to the cinema with me.  We had a great time.  It was amazing.

I used to hate the show.  My boy was the one who fell in love with it and I had to either learn to love it or lose my marbles.  I teetered on the edge of madness until I saw this on the show:

That video made me take notice of the show.  Almost instantly, I became addicted.  It is now my favorite animated show of all time.

If your kid loves SpongeBob SquarePantsthey will love this movie.  No question.  If you hate it, you will still hate it, perhaps more so after watching this.  Yes, it will be a divisive film.  It is a children’s film, though, and as long as the li’l ones love it, that’s what’s important, right?  If your kid wants to see it, take them.  They will love you forever.  In fact, my kid told me I was the best daddy ever after we left the theater.  Is there any better commendation than that?

*** out of ****

BIZZAM!! Fun Facts!

  • The film is in memory of Ernest Borgnine, who voiced Mermaidman on the series.
  • Tim Conway voices one of the seagulls.  He is also the voice of Barnacle Boy on the series, Mermaidman’s sidekick.
  • The film had an opening weekend of approximately $56 million.  It knocked Oscar contender American Sniper from the number one box office spot, which it had maintained for three weeks.  Yes, it seems that SpongeBob is stronger than Clint Eastwood . . .
Leave a Reply

