In Memoriam

In Memoriam: Wes Craven

Wes Craven glove

Born Wesley Earl Craven August, 1939 in Cleveland, OH.

Died August 30, 2015.

Wes Craven, director and horror icon, has passed away at age 76 of brain cancer.  Best known for creating Freddy Krueger, antagonist of the Nightmare on Elm Street series of horror films, Craven also directed such horror classics as The Hills Have Eyes and all the films in the Scream franchise.

Personally, I have been a horror fan for most of my life.  I always say that there are very few films that have ever actually scared me.  Three, perhaps four, at most.  One of those films that has scared me and that I have refused to ever watch again is Wes Craven’s The Last House on the Left.  The film terrified me, and that was his first film in 1972.  It is an absolutely horrific film.

I was going to pen a personal, heartfelt thank you to Mr. Wes Craven, rather than this somewhat generic In Memoriam.  As I was dwelling on what I would say to Mr. Craven, I occurred to me that, as a horror director, it would be more in line to pen that thank you during the month of October, the Halloween season, in praise of his films.  During the month of October, in honor of Mr. Craven, I will take another long look at his filmography and pen a tribute to the man of our nightmares.

Let us all send good vibes to his family and let them know he will never be forgotten.  He was and always will be, a legend.

 

Selected Filmography

  • The Last House on the Left (1972)
  • The Hills Have Eyes (1977)
  • Swamp Thing (1982)
  • A Nightmare on Elm Street (1984)
  • The Hills Have Eyes Part II (1985)
  • The Serpent and the Rainbow (1988)
  • Shocker (1989)
  • The People Under the Stairs (1991)
  • Wes Craven’s New Nightmare (1994)
  • Vampire in Brooklyn (1994)
  • Scream (1996)
  • Scream II (1997)
  • Scream 3 (2000)
  • Cursed (2005)
  • Red Eye (2005)
  • Scream 4 (2011)

Wes Craven scream

Leave a Reply

