Comedy / Hall of Fame / Halloween Horror Celebration IV / Horror / Reviews

Deathgasm (2015) review (Mildly NSFW)

Deathgasm poster

Starring: Milo Cawthorne, James Blake, Kimberley Crossman

Written by: Jason Lei Howden

Directed by: Jason Lei Howden

Currently available on VOD and select theaters

When metal heads Brodie (Milo Cawthorne) and Zakk (James Blake) play some music stolen from one of their idols, they inadvertently summon a demon and they are the only ones who can stop it.

So what is there to say about Deathgasm, the directorial debut of Jason Lei Howden?  How about this.  HAIL SATIN!!  \m/  Or perhaps this.  Deathgasm is the hilariously evil spawn of heavy metal and Evil Dead 2: Dead by Dawn.  That is perhaps the most apt description of this film that anyone could possibly make.  This movie feels like an Evil Dead movie, just with a heavy metal aesthetic.  Seriously funny, exceedingly gory and an extremely good time, Deathgasm is perhaps the best horror movie of the year and is easily destined for the cult status it deserves.  I haven’t enjoyed a film this much in a long time.

After his mom goes on a meth binge and tried to suck off a Santa Claus in a shopping mall and is remanded to a mental hospital, metal head Brodie is sent to live with his very religious uncle.  Tormented at school by his cousin for being a devil worshipper, he soon makes friends with Zakk, another metal head in this small town.  Before you know it, these two have started a metal band with the local Dungeons and Dragons dorks.  After Brodie and Zakk break into a house, they find that one of their metal idols has been hiding out there and they flee with pages from a Satanic ritual.  Not knowing what it is, they play it with their band and unleash demons on their small unsuspecting town.  And, of course, they are the only ones who can stop it.  Oh, yeah, there is also a Satanic cult who wants the demons summoned and don’t want them stopped.

Deathgasm If you are reading this review and are a regular visitor to this site, you know I am a metal head.  I am also a huge fan of Sam Raimi’s Evil Dead films.  So, obviously, this film is right up my alley. Of course, watching the trailer, the first thing I thought was that this film was going to be making fun of us, the metal community  The trailer, to me, didn’t come across so much as a love letter to metal, but more of a ‘ha, ha, look at these doofuses who listen to this crap’.  Which, of course, kind of irritated me.  So why did I watch the film?  Well, that’s the point of my Halloween Horror Celebration.  I subject myself to horror films I normally wouldn’t over the course of the rest of the year and review them for the masses.  So, I was extremely surprised that this film wasn’t making fun of us so much as being a love letter.  While making fun of us.  But we are in on the joke.  And trust me when I say, we all had that metal friend who spelled Satan, Satin.  I know I did . . .

Do you have to be a metal fan to enjoy this film?  I really don’t think so.  If you are a fan of goofy and wacky horror films, you will love this.  Yes, the soundtrack is metal, by a lot of bands I have never heard of.  Despite the fact that there are posters for Trivium and Cannibal Corpse and I believe I saw a cassette tape of Judas Priest, the soundtrack songs are from lesser or unknown bands.  And ya know what?  The soundtrack rocks.  If you can handle the metal, you will dig this movie.  Honestly, this movie is so good, I ‘m having trouble not going off on tangents.  It’s been rolling around my brain since I watched it yesterday and I want to watch it again.  And I will.  I think this will be a movie I invite people over to watch.  I imagine it will be even better with a group of like minded individuals rockin out.

Deathgasm 2What’s even better is that the movie is laugh out loud funny.  I dare you not have to pause the movie when Brodie and Zakk attack some possessed folk with a huge, black double dong and anal beads.  And then seem genuinely surprised when they have no effect.  This scene is as funny, if not funnier, than the scene in Shaun of the Dead where they throw their record collection at zombies.  Oh, and by the way, they do make some vibrator’s work . . .and you will die laughing while being grossed out.  It is phenomenal.  It is epic.  It is more metal than you can even comprehend.  I literally had to pause the movie, I was laughing so hard.  When I rewound it after I had calmed down so I could watch it without crying, I noticed before the attack that Brody smells the anal beads.  Of course, this sent me into chortles of laughter and disgust.  It is brilliant.

Deathgasm is the best horror movie of the year.  I can say that easily.  In fact, it is the most fun I have had watching a movie in a very long time.  I laughed.  I cried (from laughing).  I said ‘ewwww’ more than once.  Then I laughed some more.  It is gory, violent, and stupidly funny.  It will become a cult classic.  That is a certainty.  I could continue writing about why this movie is so amazing, but I won’t.  Just know that you have to see it.  It is stunning.

**** out of ****

NOTE:  Never forget their band name . . .DETHGASM.  Because lower case letters are for pussies!

Leave a Reply

